Introduction to Indigo Flow: Path to a New Beginning

by | Jul 5, 2024

Grief is a club that no one wants to join, yet we all will. I developed Indigo Flow: Path to a New Beginning, to address this very surreal and unsettling time. After experiencing my own losses and supporting hundreds of others as a hospital palliative care and bereavement chaplain, I witnessed what helped people move through loss and grow: finding meaning.

I’ve watched people in deep sorrow become stronger, wiser, and more empathetic than ever before. By harnessing loss and life changes, while also finding meaning and building resilience in the midst of it, ultimately a pathway forward is uncovered.

Indigo Flow: Path to a New Beginning, also evolved from my book, “Pockets of Grace: Lessons from Darkness, Lessons from Light,” where I explore what I learned from my own grief, as well as from those I had the privilege of companioning with. The four transcendent flows of Indigo Flow: Nature, Creative, Sacred, and Soul, emerged while writing as the most helpful and meaningful ways of redefining life after loss.

The Color Indigo and Its Significance

“Indigo” is the color of the dark night sky and the blue of the deep ocean. It represents the dark, deep, intense grief emotions that society often urges us to “hurry up and get over.” Inside Indigo Flow, you don’t hurry, but rather take your time, get curious, and lean into raw emotions, feel them, and let your intuition or inner vision guide you forward. Over time, these feelings are alchemized through the four transcendent flows: being in the natural world, using your creativity, weaving in the sacred, as well as your soul’s longings.

The Four Flows of Indigo Path to a New Beginning

  1. Nature’s Flow Nature has an unparalleled ability to heal. When you immerse yourself in the natural world, you find solace and a sense of connection to something larger than yourself. The rustling leaves, the rhythmic crashing of waves, the stillness of a forest—all these elements can ground you, providing a serene space to process grief and loss. Nature’s cycles of growth and renewal can serve as powerful metaphors for your own journey through grief, reminding you that life, too, is cyclical and that new beginnings are always possible.
  2. Creative Flow Engaging in creative activities allows you to express emotions that words often fail to capture. Whether it’s painting, writing, music, or any other form of artistic expression, creativity offers an outlet for your feelings. It enables you to transform pain into beauty, chaos into order, and confusion into clarity. Through creativity, you can explore your inner world, gaining insights and perspectives that can help you navigate your grief and find new meaning.
  3. Sacred Flow Tapping into what is sacred to you provides a deep sense of peace and understanding. This might involve spiritual practices, meditation, or connecting with your beliefs and values. The sacred flow invites you to explore the mysteries of life and death, to seek comfort in rituals, and to find strength in your faith or spiritual beliefs. This connection can offer a sense of purpose and hope, guiding you through the darkest times.
  4. Soul’s Flow Your soul’s longings are the deepest desires and truths that reside within you. During times of grief and life changes, it’s crucial to reconnect with these aspects of yourself. The soul flow encourages you to remember who you are at your core, your “you-ness,” and to honor your passions, dreams, and what truly matters to you. By living in alignment with your soul’s longings, you can find a path forward that is authentic and fulfilling, even amidst the pain of loss.

How Indigo Flow Supports You

Indigo Flow: Path to a New Beginning, is designed to support you during grief and life changes by providing coaching and programs that incorporate the four flows, so you can connect with your “you-ness,” the deepest part of yourself. Grief is not something to be rushed or ignored, but rather, a profound, universal experience that can lead to personal growth and transformation.

Through the four flows, you are encouraged to take your time, to be gentle with yourself, and to honor your unique journey. The coaching and programs offered inside Indigo Flow are designed to help you harness the transformative power of grief, enabling you to find meaning in your experiences and to emerge stronger and more resilient.


Grief and life changes can be overwhelming, but they also offer an opportunity for life-changing transformation. Through Indigo Flow: Path to a New Beginning, I support people who experience loss and help them connect with the transformative power of grief, so they can live purposefully and joyfully.

I’m here to guide you through this process, honoring your loss and helping you reimagine your life. By connecting with nature, embracing your creativity, honoring the sacred, and listening to your soul, you can navigate your grief with grace and discover a new path forward. This journey, though challenging, can lead you to a place of greater understanding, purpose, and joy.